Gratitude

I grew up in the Midwest, and first saw the Atlantic Ocean when I was 12, and the Pacific Ocean when I was 16. I do not ever take for granted living so close to such an amazing gift — the beauty and immensity of the Ocean. It is my cathedral, my spiritual place, a special spot for me to cry, to grieve, to reconnect and recharge my batteries, to meditate, to play my drum, to picnic, to nap, to pray, to read, sometimes by myself, sometimes with a friend – just jumping in my old car on a weekend and heading north, or south, and seeing where I end up. …

This was taken about 3 hours north of Oakland, near Mendocino, on Highway 1. This Thanksgiving, I am grateful for the beauty of the Ocean along the North Coast, and the freedom that I have to enjoy the Ocean nearly any weekend I want. I feel blessed. ~

IMG_0993

Author: cliasca

I live in Oakland, and write about my life.

Leave a Reply

